TBR – My Current “To Be Read” Bookshelf

Unsurprisingly, my “to be read” list has gotten longer and longer and longer. However, there are a few books that I have set my sights on for the near future, and will hopefully get to in the next month or so. Here’s a little something old, something new, something borrowed.

PS. Have you read ANY of these books? Would love to hear thoughts and further recommendations!

Something OldHelter Skelter by Vincent Bugliosi

105992

This book has been on my TBR list all year. I have always been a fan of true crime, but since listening to season 1 of the Serial podcast back in 2014, my love for true crime has turned into an obsession. I’ve read, listened, and watched all of the true crime I can get my hands on, and Helter Skelter is next on my list. It was originally published in 1974, and documents the Manson Murders and the subsequent trial against Charles Manson and his family of followers. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book, and can’t wait to start reading.

Something NewMy Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry

31227076

My something new is a book that will be coming out in January 2017. Ever since reading Gone Girl, I’ve been a sucker for intense psychological thrillers. I personally believe that I am a magnificent detective and that Sherlock Holmes would be honoured to know me, so these books are more of a personal challenge to see if I can solve the ending before it’s revealed. My Husband’s Wife follows Lily, a lawyer who becomes drawn to a convicted murderer during her first murder case and sixteen years later, there’s a crime that bring’s up Lily’s past – need I say more?

Something BorrowedThe Boy Who Drew Monsters by Keith Donohue

the-boy-who-drew-monsters-cover

I. Am. So. Excited. To. Read. This. Book!!!!! This was lent to me by a friend, and I can’t stop staring at it. The cover is minimal but so mysterious, and the title is so wonderful that I don’t know how I haven’t already devoured it. The story follows 10 year old Jack, who spends his time drawing monsters, monsters that begin to take on a life of their own. It essentially sounds like a Tim Burton movie just waiting to happen. Can’t wait to find out what happens.

Leave a Reply

